Wordless Wednesday: Mina lobata

20140830_150113

Mina lobata 30 Aug 2014

9 Comments

Filed under Gardening

9 responses to “Wordless Wednesday: Mina lobata

  1. I’ve always loved those! So pretty!

    Like

  2. i had a fence of these mixed with moonflowers, i really loved that combo 🙂

    Like

  3. What a great combo! Mine were supposed to be mixed with cardinal climber and black eyed Susan vine, but those didn’t do nearly as well.

    Like

  4. I’m planning on growing this next summer. Does it attract butterflies or hummingbirds? Do you recommend it as a garden plant?

    Like

    • I do recommend it. Like other plants in the morning glory family, it blooms late in the season. Mine has been blooming for about a month and is just peaking now.
      I haven’t noticed hummingbirds on this, but they do love the closely related Cardinal Climber (Ipomoea x sloteri) and Cypress Vine (Ipomoea quamoclit),, both of which have red trumpet shaped flowers. They’re lovely combined with Mina lobata.

      Like

      • Hmmmm….. I have cardinal climber and am looking for a bright, not-too-big annual vine that blooms all summer, endures heat well, and attracts pollinators. I want the perfect plant! ;o)

        Like

  5. Thank you for alerting me to this plant. I hadn’t come across it before but just did a bit of checking and found out that it is readily available here in the UK. I’ve added it to my list for next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

