February & March, In Retrospect

Most years, March is the busiest month of the year in the garden for me.  It’s the perfect time for planting out perennials and shrubs and a wide variety are readily available.  Mail order nurseries ship hardy plants to my zone in March or April, and the nurseries are well stocked.  There’s enough warm sunny weather that it’s nice to get outside, and there’s plenty of cleanup work to do after fall and winter.

Due to a broken ankle, my gardening time has been drastically curtailed this year.  Working around that has involved identifying tasks that can be done on crutches or sitting on a scooter, badgering the Chief of Implementation and our offspring and a LOT of letting go of things that aren’t getting done this year.  We’ve postponed starting a couple of beehives until next spring; much of the vegetable garden will be planted late if at all; and I have no plans for new flower beds this year despite having a big lot with lots of blank space.

In spite of that, we’ve gotten a good bit done in the yard and planted a lot of new plants and replacements.  Most of my mail order plants are in the ground, largely thanks to my daughter and her significant other. We even did a little direct seeding of hardy annuals in the Front Island Bed last week.  Winter sown seedlings are doing fairly well, although I planted a fair number of slow germination seeds this year that aren’t up yet.  I do have one Meconopsis cambrica (Welsh Poppy) seedling so far.  Supposedly, this is the easiest kind to grow, and reliably perennial.  I’m growing double orange and double yellow ones.

It’s also been a lovely spring, though earlier than usual.  Thankfully we’ve had enough cool weather that flowers have lasted pretty well.  Here’s a quick glance at what’s bloomed so far.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photo credits go to my daughter who posts her art at http://cricketwerks.tumblr.com/

Here’s to a lovely growing season for everyone!

4 Comments

Filed under Gardening

4 responses to “February & March, In Retrospect

  1. hi, sorry to hear you havn´t been able to do as much gardening as you would have liked. a great way to deal with it and keep the garden in shape until you are well again is green manure. plant something that is quick to grow, pretty to look at and improves the soil. I love Lacy phacelia (Phacelia tanacetifolia) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phacelia_tanacetifolia. It is beautiful and the bees simply love it. t will keep the weeds down and the garden beds pretty. hope you get better soon
    commonredstart

    Like

  2. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Like

  3. Your property is absolutely beautiful…the house, front garden, flowers, everything! 🙂
    Seeing such pretty, lush surroundings makes me a bit nostalgic for the “gradual warm-up to summer” that goes along with living in the north! Very, very pretty!!
    I’m so sorry your ankle has made you feel less “on-time” this year, but from what you’ve shown today, no one would EVER realize it!
    Here’s to a wonderful new season outside! I’m really looking forward to what summer brings you!

    Like

    • Thanks! I have to admit that I really enjoy your blog for just the opposite reason — it makes me sentimental for the Florida gardens of my childhood. Mostly I love having four seasons, but I look at WHAT you can grow and miss Florida.

      Like

Leave a Reply

